

Planning Commission

City Hall 601 4th Avenue E Olympia, WA 98501

Contact: Joyce Phillips 360.570.3722

Monday, March 19, 2018

6:30 PM

Council Chambers

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:41 p.m.

1.A ROLL CALL

Commissioner Burns excused himself from the meeting at approximately 9:15 p.m.

Present: 7 - Chair Rad Cunningham, Commissioner Tammy Adams, Commissioner Travis Burns, Commissioner Brian Mark, Commissioner Paula Ehlers, Commissioner Carole Richmond and Commissioner Missy Watts

Excused: 1 - Vice Chair Mike Auderer

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.A <u>18-0247</u> Approval of the March 5, Olympia Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

The minutes were approved.

- 4. PUBLIC COMMENT None
- 5. STAFF ANNOUNCEMENTS None

6. BUSINESS ITEMS

Prior to accepting public testimony the Planning Commission decided it would accept written comments through 12:00 p.m. on Friday, March 23, 2018.

6.A <u>18-0261</u> Missing Middle Housing Analysis - Public Hearing

Deputy Director Leonard Bauer provided a brief background on the Missing Middle Analysis code revisions and recommendations to develop a methodology for impact fees and General Facilities Charges (GFCs) to consider Missing Middle housing types. Chair Cunningham opened the public hearing.

The following people spoke in general support of the Missing Middle code revisions proposal: Whitney Bowerman, Dani Madrone, Erin Meade, Elizabeth Hauser, Doug DeForest, Jill Severn, Erin Hall, Jayne Rossman, Darius Massoudi, Jon Russell, Erin Flynn, Loretta Seppanen, Pat Rasmussen, Chris Rohloft, John Hagemann, Jason Taellious, Chris Van Daalen, Rick Scrivner, Shanna Bittle, Holly Gadbaw, Jessica Nunez, Phil Owen, Jim Burlingaine, Janae Huber, Tedd Kelleher, Marc Sulik, Elisabeth Wooton, Thomas Serra, Adrien Simkins, Max Brown, Darleen Muhly, and Art Arneson.

The following people spoke generally against or with concerns about the Missing Middle code revisions proposal: Denise Pantelis, Bob Jacobs, Colleen Bradford, Jay Elder, Sharon Taubel, Phyllis Booth, Bob Jorgenson, Melissa Allen, Susan Sauvage-Cole, Susan Moriarty, Christopher Parsons, Starleen Parsons, John Edwards, Kathy Swanstrom, Eric Swanstrom, Miles McEvoy, Dan Cole, Jim Keogh, John Tobin, Rachel Newmann, Marilyn Freeman, Karen Clemens, Karl Sloan, Walter Jorgenson, Kevin Parish, Ric Nannini, Sherri Goulet, Bob Hanell, Ellen Dorfman, Margaret Fleming, Bill Robinson, Stephen Mazepa, and Judy Bardin.

Chair Cunningham closed the public hearing for oral testimony at approximately 10:30 p.m. and noted that written public comments would be accepted until 12:00 p.m. (noon) on Friday, March 23, 2018.

Chair Cunningham moved, seconded by Commissioner Ehlers, to accept wriitten comments until 12:00 p.m. on Friday, March 23, 2018. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Chair Cunningham, Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Burns, Commissioner Mark, Commissioner Ehlers, Commissioner Richmond and Commissioner Watts

Excused: 1 - Vice Chair Auderer

7. **REPORTS - None**

9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 10:33 p.m. The next Planning Commission meeting will be April 2, 2018.