Past Olympia Preservation Awards

...as noted in Olympia City Council meeting minutes

May 7, 1991

- Lorig Associates, for the renovation of the Old Thurston County Courthouse
- Denise and Chris Keegan/Steve and Elyse Harrington, for the renovation of the Steele House

May 5, 1992

 Marianne Bigelow, for her outstanding work in bringing the history of Olympia and the History of the Bigelow House to life

May 4, 1993

- Shanna Stevenson, Certificate of Appreciation in recognition for her extraordinary dedication to preserving Olympia's past
- Bill Walker and Pioneer Title Co., Leonard Trabka, Leonard Trabka Construction, and Richard Talcott, Preservation Awards

May 3, 1994

 Frank Smith, Sandra Romero, George & Silvia Grubb, Connie & David Fleming, and Dick & Crystal Kent Cornew

May 7, 1996

- Bigelow House Preservation Association with Mary Ann and Dan Bigelow, for their ongoing efforts I the restoration of the house
- Fred and Barbara Finn. for the Kellev Block
- Scott Oliver and Oliver Reconstruction, Lynch Building and the Bigelow House

May 6, 1997

- Heather Lockman, the Woman's Club
- Steve Carras

May 19, 1998

- The Sand Man Foundation, preservation of the tugboat Sand Man
- Alan and Penny McWain, Spar Restaurant
- Friends of the Artesians, preserving and protecting publicly accessible artesian wells

May 4, 1999

- Sandy Desner, for renovation of the Baretich Building (Bulldog News)
- Harlequin Productions, for renovation of the State Theater

May 16, 2000

- Justice Gerry Alexander, Historian of the Year Award
- Leanne Kirkwood and Dennis and Margo Jensen, Preservation Awards

May 15, 2001

- John and Sonja Purtteman, Overhulse House (103 Olympic Avenue)
- Washington State Department of General Administration and Ralph Munroe, for the renovation of the James Dolliver Building

- Danielle Heald and the Page Family, for the restoration of the Emma Page Fountain in Sylvester
- Annamary Fitzgerald (member of the Olympia Heritage Commission from 1995 to 2000), for folklore studies

May 7, 2002

 Olympia Heritage Commission members presented preservation awards [not identified in City Council meeting minutes]

May 6, 2003

- Lee Ingrim and Julie and Jim Haase, restoration of "Cloverfields"
- Craig and Sheila Swalling, renovation and restoration of the 1920's era Wight House
- Jim Hannum, for his outstanding historical research and documentation of the railroads of Thurston County in his book, Gone But Not Forgotten: Abandoned Railroads of Thurston County, Washington, published in 2002
- Scott Davidson, owner of Davidson Masonry, for craftsmanship in repairing many chimneys and other masonry elements structures damaged in the Nisqually earthquake

May 4, 2004

- Bill and Toy Kay, Brian Lock, Ron Locke, and Ed Echtle, for the Olympia Chinese Marker
- Kolb Family Investments, Brian and Kathy Kolb (represented by Anthony and Damien Kolb), renovation of the American Legion Building
- The Olympia-Tumwater Foundation, for protection and preservation of the Schmidt Family and related business historical archives
- Bev and Dan Smith, the first annual Bob Arnold Historic Preservation Volunteer Award, for their longtime service to the annual Historic Home Tour

May 10, 2005

- Lynn Erickson, for Sylvester's Window series
- Sandy Desner, for Harris Drygoods Building renovation
- Rich Hovde and Sherrie Sibbett, for McCleary/Robinson house rehabilitation
- The Olympia School District, for Old Washington (Knox Center) and Old Washington Gym

May 22, 2007

- Steve Cooper, for restoring the Olympia National Bank building on Capitol Way
- Frank Smith, for his architectural influence in the community and service on the Heritage Commission

May 5, 2009

 Olympia Film Society and Capitol Theater owner Gary Holgate, for the historic replica of the Capitol Theater marquee and sign

May 3, 2011

- Women's History Consortium /Senator Karen Fraser and Shanna Stevenson
- Jim Connolly (posthumously), for service on the Heritage Commission

May 8, 2012

- David Goularte
- Olympia Downtown Association

May 21, 2013

- **Deb Ross and Brian Hovis,** for their "Where Are We" database of historic sites
- Walker John, for rehabilitation of the historic Cunningham Building

May 27, 2014

Ira Coyne, for his contributions to the historical crafts of sign and mural making

May 19, 2015

- Lauren and David Danner, for her initiative & scholarship in nominating the Trueman "Bink" & Virginia Schmidt House for the NRHP
- Teresa Shattuck and tenants, for preserving and reinvigorating the Wildwood Center

November 15, 2016

- Sean Kirby, for rehabilitation of the Trena & Leo Belsito House
- Thurston-Lewis-Mason Central Labor Council, for celebrating Olympia's places of labor history

December 19, 2017

- Gray & Joy Graham and Artisans Group, whose creative rehabilitation of the former Thorp Motors Building (222 Capitol Way North) has turned this underutilized historic building into a vibrant social and commercial hub.
- Maurice Major, for leading citizen advocacy on the protection of Priest Point Parks' significant cultural and historic resources.