

Meeting Minutes

Planning Commission

City Hall 601 4th Avenue E Olympia, WA 98501

Contact: Cari Hornbein 360.753.8048

Monday, December 7, 2020

6:30 PM

Online and via phone

Register to attend:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_M69RbDQySGCHpxojZgN-zg

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Millar called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

1.A ROLL CALL

Present:

8 - Chair Candi Millar, Vice Chair Paula Ehlers, Commissioner Tammy Adams, Commissioner Kento Azegami, Commissioner Rad Cunningham, Commissioner Yen Huynh, Commissioner Carole Richmond and Commissioner Aaron Sauerhoff

1.B OTHERS PRESENT

Community Planning & Development Staff: Senior Planner Cari Hornbein Senior Planner Joyce Phillips Director Leonard Bauer Planning and Engineering Manager Tim Smith

Public Works City Engineer Fran Eide

Watershed Company Vice President Dan Nickel

Washington Dept. of Ecology Senior Shoreline Planner Kim Van Zwalenburg

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.A 20-1010 Approval of November 16, 2020 Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

The minutes were approved.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT - None

5. STAFF ANNOUNCEMENTS

Mr. Bauer and Ms. Hornbein made announcements.

6. BUSINESS ITEMS

6.A 20-1005 Shoreline Master Program Periodic Review - Public Draft Briefing

Ms. Phillips and Mr. Nickel gave presentations.

The information was received.

6.B 20-1003 Capital Projects and Private Development Briefing

Ms. Eide and Mr. Smith gave presentations.

The information was received.

7. REPORTS - None

8. OTHER TOPICS

Officer Elections:

Commissioner Richmond moved, seconded by Commissioner Azegami, to re elect Candi Millar for Chair, Paula Ehlers for Vice Chair, and Rad Cunningham for Finance Subcommittee Chair

Commissioner Azegami moved, seconded by Commissioner Ehlers, to nominate Yen Huynh for Chair and Aaron Sauerhoff for Vice Chair.

Votes for Chair:

Commissioner Millar and Commissioner Huynh each received four (4) votes.

Votes for Vice Chair:

Commissioner Ehlers and Commissioner Sauerhoff each received four (4) votes.

Commissioners voted unanimously to appoint Commissioner Cunningham as Finance Subcommittee Chair.

Further action on the Chair and Vice Chair positions was deferred until the next meeting.

9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:07 p.m.

City of Olympia Page 3