

Planning Commission

City Hall 601 4th Avenue E Olympia, WA 98501

Contact: Cari Hornbein 360.753.8048

Monday, December 6, 2021	6:30 PM	Online and via phone:

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Millar called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

1.A ROLL CALL

Present:9 - Chair Candi Millar, Vice Chair Aaron Sauerhoff, Commissioner Paula
Ehlers, Commissioner Tammy Adams, Commissioner Rad
Cunningham, Commissioner Carole Richmond, Commissioner Zainab
Nejati, Commissioner Tracey Carlos and Commissioner Greg Quetin

1.B OTHERS PRESENT

Community Planning and Development Staff: Senior Planner Cari Hornbein Planning and Engineering Manager Tim Smith Director Leonard Bauer

Public Works Department Staff: City Engineer Fran Eide

City Councilmember Dani Madrone

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

3.A <u>21-1175</u> Approval of November 15, 2021 Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

The minutes were approved.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT - None

5. STAFF ANNOUNCEMENTS

Staff announcements were shared by Ms. Madrone, Mr. Bauer and Ms. Hornbein.

6. BUSINESS ITEMS

6.A <u>21-1147</u> Private Development and Capital Projects Briefing

Mr. Smith and Ms. Eide provided handouts and gave a presentation on private development and capital projects.

The information was received.

6.B <u>21-1077</u> Urban Waterfront Code Amendments Recommendation

Ms. Hornbein provided a handout and shared a presentation.

Commissioner Carlos moved, seconded by Commissioner Cunningham, to deny the proposed Urban Waterfront Code Amendments. The motion passed unanimously.

7. REPORTS

Commissioner Cunningham attended the November 16 City Council meeting regarding the Capital Facilities Plan.

8. OTHER TOPICS

Officer Elections:

Officer Elections

A. Motion made by Commissioner Cunningham to elect Commissioner Carlos to serve as vice chair. Commissioner Quetin seconded the motion. **Vote:** *All voted in favor of the motion.*

B. Chair Millar called for a roll call vote for the position of chair. The two nominees were Commissioners Nejati and Sauerhoff.

Vote: Commissioner Nejati received 5 votes and Commissioner Sauerhoff received 4 votes.

C. Motion made by Commissioner Cunningham to nominate Commissioner Quetin to serve as chair of the Finance Subcommittee. Commissioner Carlos seconded the motion.

Vote: All voted in favor of the motion.

2022 Officers:

Commissioner Nejati, Chair Commissioner Carlos, Vice Chair Commissioner Quetin, Finance Subcommittee Chair

9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 8:45 p.m.